Today, the Council on Foundations, which represents nearly 1,000 philanthropic organizations, announced new leadership to its Board of Directors, as well as several new members.

Javier Alberto Soto, President and CEO of The Miami Foundation, has begun a two-year term as the Board’s Chair and Jaime Merisotis, President and CEO of the Lumina Foundation, as its Vice Chair. Javier succeeds Sherry Magill, President of the Jessie Ball duPont Fund, who served as Board Chair since 2014.

“This is an important time for philanthropy,” said Soto. “In an environment where we are pushed to define ourselves by differences, the social sector is well-positioned to unite communities around common goals. I’m ready to advance the Council’s important role in making that happen.”

“During her nine years on the Board, including the last three as Chair, Sherry has been a fierce advocate of our sector and I want to thank her for her steadfast commitment to philanthropy,” said Council President and CEO Vikki Spruill. “Likewise, I am extremely excited about Javier taking the helm as chair of the Council board. I think he will be a thoughtful, passionate voice as the Council continues to amplify the amazing work being done by our sector.”

Three new directors were elected to a three-year term at the Council’s 2017 Annual Conference in Dallas, which ended today. Dinah Dittman, National Director for Community Benefit at Kaiser Permanente, Kathleen McLaughlin, President of Walmart Foundation, and Ridgway White, President of Charles Stewart Mott Foundation, will begin three years of service on the Council’s 17-member board starting on January 1, 2018. Kenneth Jones, II, Vice President of Finance and Administration for the Annie E. Casey Foundation, will serve for a second term.

“On behalf of the Council and our membership, I welcome these leaders to the Council’s board,” said Spruill. “They each bring talent, energy, passion, and a diversity of perspective that will help guide the Council in the years ahead. We are very fortunate to have them.”

Linda Evans, President and CEO of the Meadows Foundation, is the Board Secretary, Sherry Elise Ristau, President and CEO of the Community Foundation of the Great River Bend, is the Assistant Secretary, and Kenneth Jones, II continues as Treasurer.

For a full listing of the Council’s board of directors, visit

No Comments

Post A Comment